• Hi Guest, want to participate in the discussions, keep track of read/unread posts and more? Create your free account and increase the benefits of your eGriz.com experience today!

Scholarship Loss: Interesting Stats

PlayerRep

This is from Haslam's letter:

"As a point of reference, over the four academic years of 2008-2012, UM awarded an average of 61.89 football scholarships. Last year, we awarded a total of 59.27 football scholarships. The tentative scholarship count for the upcoming academic year is approximately 61."

I'm surprised by those numbers -- I just blindly assumed that UM awarded the full 63 scholarships every year. And I have been lamenting the loss of 4 scholarships a year for three years as the most stringent part of the NCAA sanctions. I figured it meant a reduction of up to 8 players (sharing 4 scholarships) in each of those seasons. The loss of scholarships is still a tough pill to swallow, but it looks as though the team numbers won't be down quite as much as I thought.

PlayerRep said:

"As a point of reference, over the four academic years of 2008-2012, UM awarded an average of 61.89 football scholarships. Last year, we awarded a total of 59.27 football scholarships. The tentative scholarship count for the upcoming academic year is approximately 61."

Thanks for providing this. I was pretty concerned it would have a pretty distinct impact on in state players particularly. Appears not too much to fret about. Go Griz!! Strange, but I have been breathing a little easier today. Seems like the dark clouds are passing.

PlayerRep said:

last year we awarded 59.27 ...

....and went 5-6.

getgrizzy said:
PlayerRep said:

....and went 5-6.

And with only 59.27 scholarships, we just about went 7-3... :coffee:

get'em_griz said:
getgrizzy said:
PlayerRep said:

....and went 5-6.

our five wins were against teams that totaled what? 13 wins? we almost went 4-7, too.