• Hi Guest, want to participate in the discussions, keep track of read/unread posts and more? Create your free account and increase the benefits of your eGriz.com experience today!

My thoughts on BH coaching style

Grizbeer

ICAC, here are my thoughts on BH's coaching style. I should say up front that I am no expert on football (never even played on a winning team), and I don't know anyone on or associated with the team, so these are all things I thought up in my own mind.

BH is one of the most secretive coaches in football. No coach likes to give away the game plan, but BH doesn't give away anything. I suspect that a prime reason we have seen such a conservative game plan is BH doesn't want to give anything away until he absolutely needs to. If he doesn't have to use the big play, throw deep every down type of play to win he won't. That's not to say that he is trying to keep the games close (poor execution and injuries are the reason for that), but that he want's to keep some bullets in for later in the season.

What got me thinking this was the Idaho game - clearly he pulled out all sorts of things nobody expected, and won big. But surprise was a key ingredient, and the more surprises you keep for later, the deeper into the playoffs you get. If we get to the playoffs and the only game film other teams have is of us running on 1 & 2, passing on 3, what will they prepare for, and how effective will the big O be then?